Logo for the Network of the National Library of Medicine

November 30, 2022

New! NNLM Technology and Collection Equity Development Awards

New funding opportunities from the Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM) Region 5 are open. NNLM Region 5 serves Alaska, Washington, Oregon, Nevada, California, Hawai’i, and U.S. Territories and Freely Associated States in the Pacific.

A Request for Applications is posted for the following awards:


1. Technology Equity Awards


2. Collection Equity Awards

    • 7 awards available, up to $1,500 each
    • Designed to support collection development that amplifies diverse voices writing on health/medical topics
    • Request for Applications (RFA) provides full instructions for applying
    • Tip: The bibliographies from previously funded Collection Equity Awards were compiled to create the Diverse Voices in Health & Medicine Collections Toolkit. This is a good starting point for locating materials for this funding opportunity.



On or before January 24, 2023, 5:00pm Pacific: send an email to the Region 5 office (nnlm@uw.edu) stating your intent to apply 

February 21, 2023, 5:00pm Pacific: application deadline 

May 2023: funded projects begin  

April 2024: funded projects are complete


Get ready to apply 

Is your library or organization a member of NNLM Region 5? NNLM Membership is required to apply. NNLM members are listed in the Members Directory. If your organization is not listed, fill out the membership form (membership is free). Contact Emily Hamstra (ehamstra@uw.edu) with questions. 

Review the NNLM Proposal Writing Toolkit for tips and resources to use while developing and submitting your application 

Questions? Contact Emily Hamstra (ehamstra@uw.edu), Assistant Director, NNLM Region 5. 


NNLM Region 5 welcomes applications from the same organization for both types of awards. However, Region 5 cannot fund more than one award per organization.